EC & BC: A Finished Quilt

To be honest, I finished this quilt a few weeks ago. BUT since it was a wedding gift, I wanted to wait until after it had been gifted to it’s recipients, EC & BC. They have the quilt now, and hopefully it’s crumpled up on their bed covered in cat hair. I like my quilts to be USED. So here are some photos. 

IMG_1948

Sorry it’s so shadowy in the corners. I apparently need better lighting.

The finished quilt size is 72″ x 96″. I designed this quilt in the style that my younger sister uses — very geometric. She’s a fabulous textile designer. You can see more of her quilts and designs on her website: Marah Light.

It’s difficult to tell in the photo, but I did all over horizontal straight line quilting with white thread. I’m really happy with how it turned out. I’m not sure I would have tried this type of quilting without inspiration from Bethany Morelli, a quilter who spoke at our guild recently. She brought in many stunning quilts that had all been quilted beautifully on her home machine.

I did some research before I began and found this post by Fresh Lemons to be helpful. I especially liked the tip about lowering the pressure of the foot to -10. This greatly reduced drag on my layers and prevented the fabric from pulling, which is a problem I’ve had in the past. I never would have been brave enough to drop my pressure to negative numbers without this guidance. Frankly, I didn’t even know I could adjust the pressure of the foot.

I started quilting in the middle of my quilt. This was definitely necessary, as I had some excess fabric that needed to be smoothed out by the time I got to the edges.

Here’s a photo of the back where you can see the quilting a bit more:

IMG_1950

I hand appliquéd the kitties on.

Finally, here’s a rendering of the quilt assembly in EQ7:

ECBC Quilt

Lots of measuring went in to this quilt.

This was a great exercise in custom quilt design in EQ7. I’ve only had the program a short time, and I taught myself how to lay out a custom quilt. It doesn’t have quite the same freedom as Adobe Illustrator, but everything lines up beautifully, and making changes to the quilt is much easier.

Although I love the way this quilt turned out, it wasn’t my favorite to make. There was too much calculating and measuring throughout the project for my tastes. I prefer to prepare my materials in advance so I can mindlessly work on a repetitive task. With this quilt, each section was different, so it required constant focus.

I was once an intern at a newspaper for the summer, and I spent some time in each stage of newspaper production. For a few days, I did the night shift on the finishing machines, and all I did for hours was load papers into the jogger. It was repetitive, but I kind of loved it.

Do you enjoy the repetitive nature of quilting?

Leave a Reply

